The Southeastern Connecticut Council of Governments (SCCOG) is a public agency. It was formed through local initiative to provide a basis for intergovernmental cooperation in dealing with a wide range of issues facing southeastern Connecticut. The Council was organized in October 1992 through the adoption of ordinances for this purpose by the twenty towns, cities, and boroughs of the region. It succeeded its predecessor agency, the Southeastern Connecticut Regional Planning Agency (SCRPA), which had been in existence since January 1961.

SCCOG is one of Connecticut’s nine Councils of Government. It is the only regional planning organization in the state which counts as non-voting affiliate members two federally recognized Native American Tribes. SCCOG also has liaison representation from the United States Naval Submarine Base and the United States Coast Guard Academy. The southeastern Connecticut region encompasses 616 square miles and in the year 2010, had a population of 286,711.

The Council operates under the provisions of Sections 4-124i through 4-124p of the Connecticut General Statutes. Duties assigned to councils of government include making a plan of conservation and development for the region; assisting municipalities within the region, as well as state and other public and private agencies; and performing a variety of advisory review functions. Under federal transportation law, SCCOG functions as the region’s Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO), responsible for coordinating transportation planning in southeastern Connecticut. In addition to its statutorily assigned duties, SCCOG’s functions include providing a basis for intergovernmental cooperation, aiding in the solution of regional issues, serving as a technical resource to its member municipalities, and providing a collective voice for the region.

The policy board of the SCCOG consists of the municipal chief elected officials from its twenty-three member municipalities. The Regional Planning Commission (RPC) functions as a subunit of the Council and is composed of one representative from the planning commission of each member municipality. In addition to the RPC, the Council has several standing committees including the Executive Committee, the Legislative Committee, and the Nominating Committee. The Council’s Bylaws allow other committees to formed as needed.

SCCOG funding is derived from several sources. SCCOG annually receives dues from each of its municipal members assessed on a per capita basis. The Council receives federal and state funds to conduct planning and transportation studies for the region. SCCOG also offers its member municipalities technical assistance to local planning commissions on a fee basis.