Resilience & Hazard Mitigation

Southeastern Connecticut is a coastal region along Long Island Sound, drained by a number of large rivers, and a region that experiences four distinct seasons, each presenting unique weather-related challenges. As a commitment to ensuring continued public safety, operation of necessary community services, and protection of public investments, SCCOG and its member municipalities have undertaken a variety of studies and planning processes aimed at improving resilience to natural hazards. The threat of climate change and sea-level rise also represents a major threat to SCCOG’s coastal communities.

Community Rating System Study

In 2018, SCCOG and a consultant team is providing assistance to member municipalities and FEMA National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) communities, Noank Fire District and Groton Long Point Association, interested in joining or improving standing in the NFIP Community Rating System (CRS). The CRS is a voluntary program in which NFIP communities are awarded points for documenting and undertaking activities that improve flood resilience. Based on CRS standing, NFIP communities are sorted into classes, in which premium discounts of 5-45% are awarded to policy holders. The CRS Study is currently underway with assistance from a consultant team led by Dewberry Companies.

Hazard Mitigation

The primary purpose of a Multi-Jurisdictional Natural Hazard Mitigation Plan (HMP) is to identify natural hazards and risks, existing capabilities, and activities that can be undertaken by a community to prevent loss of life and reduce property damages associated with identified hazards. The Disaster Mitigation Act of 2000 requires local communities to have a FEMA-approved mitigation plan in order to be eligible to receive Pre-Disaster Mitigation Program grants and Post-Disaster Hazard Mitigation Grant Program funds under the Hazard Mitigation Assistance program. SCCOG’s most recent HMP was completed in December 2017. Past HMPs were completed in 2012 and 2005.

Critical Facilities Assessment

A Critical Facilities Assessment was completed in 2017, which studied site-specific vulerabilities of sixteen emergency services facilities located in storm surge or flood zones. This project was recommended in the 2012 Multi-Jurisdictional Hazard Mitigation Plan. Site-specific assessments examined flood, wind, and snow-load risks and provided recommendations for improvements, with the goal of reducing risk of service interruptions.

Regional Resilience Guidebook

The Nature Conservancy, along with SCCOG and the Southeastern Connecticut Enterprise Region (seCTer), led an effort with the Cities of Groton, New London, and Norwich, the Towns of East Lyme, Groton, Ledyard, Montville, Salem, Stonington, and Waterford, and other regional stakeholders, to form a shared vision for natural hazard resilience. In particular, the Regional Resilience Guidebook examined six topic areas: Water, Food, Economy, Ecosystems, Energy, and Transportation.